Close this search box.

Who is Bhupendra Patel, the 18th chief minister of Gujarat | Gujarat Election News

NEW DELHI: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Bhupendra Patel took oath as the chief minister of Gujarat for a second straight term in Gandhinagar on Monday in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union home minister Amit Shah, and other dignitaries.
Also See: Gujarat CM Oath Taking Live
Patel was administered the oath as the 18th chief minister by Governor Acharya Devvrat at a function held at the Helipad Ground near the new Secretariat.
60-year-old Patel resigned as chief minister along with his entire cabinet on Friday paving the way for the formation of a new government following the election results. The BJP won a record-breaking 156 of the total 182 seats.

He was elected as the leader of the BJP legislative party on Saturday, following which he met the governor and staked claim to form the next government.
Besides the prime minister and Shah, chief ministers of other BJP-ruled states also attended the ceremony.
Here’s more facts to know about Gujarat CM Bhupendra Patel

  • Bhupendrabhai Patel was born on July 15, 1962, in a Gujarati family in Ahmedabad. He graduated with a diploma in civil engineering from the Government Polytechnic in April 1982.
  • He started his political career in municipal bodies of Ahmedabad before being elected as member of Gujarat Legislative Assembly representing Ghatlodia constituency in 2017.
  • A low-profile BJP leader, he succeeded Vijay Rupani as the first Kadva Patidar to hold the position of chief minister in September 2021.
  • On September 11, 2021, Rupani resigned from the post and Patel was unanimously elected as the BJP legislative party leader and chief minister elect of Gujarat in the party legislature meeting at Gandhinagar. He was sworn in as the 17th chief minister of the state on September 13, 2021.
  • A builder by profession, Patel has vast experience in administration, having served as the Chairman of the Standing Committee of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (AMC) and as a Corporator for Thaltej ward from 2010 to 2015.
  • He has been associated with Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and has served as a trustee for the Sardardham Vishwa Patidar Kendra and as the head of the foundation’s standing committee.
  • Patel became a member of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly from the Ghatlodia constituency after winning the 2017 state elections, running against Shashikant Patel of the Congress. He won by a record margin of 1,17,000 votes.
  • He was elected again from Ghotlodia constituency in 2022 assembly election as a BJP candidate defeating his nearest rival and Congress candidate Amiben Yagnik.
  • In the just-concluded elections, Patel broke his own record and once again won from Ghatlodia constituency by a staggering margin of 1,91,000 votes.
  • It was under his leadership that the BJP won a record-breaking 156 of the total 182 seats, with the party forming the state government for the 7th consecutive time. This overwhelming majority of the saffron party depicts the absolute faith of the people in Patel’s leadership.

The BJP swept the Gujarat assembly polls getting the highest number of seats any party has won after the formation of the state in the year 1960.
The BJP’s seventh consecutive assembly poll win in Gujarat is its biggest since the founding of this state in 1960. It is an important win for the BJP.
Notably, there has always been a strong contest between the BJP and Congress in Gujarat, but this time around, Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) entry made this election an interesting one. AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal tried hard to woo the people of Gujarat with the promises of providing free electricity and water, Rs 1,000 per month for women and a loan waiver for farmers. On the other hand, Congress also tried to attract voters with all kinds of sops.
The BJP bagged 156 seats in the 182-member Assembly, its highest-ever poll tally in the state. The opposition Congress could manage only 17 seats while Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party had to be content with just 5 seats.
Three seats went to Independent candidates while the Samajwadi Party (SP) won a lone seat in the state.
The BJP, which has won its seventh straight election in Gujarat, not only improved its own best record of 127 seats in 2002– the first election with Narendra Modi as Chief Minister — but the Congress’ tally of 149 seats in 1985.
(With inputs from agencies)

Source link

Recent Post

Live Cricket Update